About the Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands are situated in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean, approximately halfway between Iceland, Norway and Scotland. The Islands are a self governing part of the Danish Realm, but have opted to remain outside the EU.

The archipelago consists of 18 islands, 17 of which are inhabited. They cover an area of 1,400 square kilometres (540 square miles) and have a population of 48.000. The capital Tórshavn, with a population of 19.351 citisens.

The Islands are of volcanic origin, and the country typically consists of high mountains, deep valleys, fjords and sounds.

The warm Gulf Stream passes by the Islands, which ensures a mild winter compared to many other North European countries.

The Faroese themselves are direct descendants from the Vikings who about 1200 years ago colonised the islands. The Faroese language is an independent language, but comes from the Old Norwegian language and is thereby related to the other Scandinavian languages.